Pick Wayne's Brain

April 29, 2008

What Is It Going To Take, John Hall?

Filed under: Commentary — Tags: , , , , , , , — Wayne A. Schneider @ 10:01 PM

I’ve told you every time I’ve met you, Congressman John Hall (D, NY-19), that I wanted you and the Democrats to put an end to the war in Iraq and to hold President Bush and Vice President Cheney accountable for their many, many, many, many (and very many more) violations both of law, and of their constitutional oaths to “faithfully execute the office” they were each about to enter. Neither of these men has done anything “faithfully” since they took office. I thought you understood that! You looked me in the eye and agreed with me that they were awful in their disregard for the law. And you dared to foist upon me your lame excuse, when we met again this past Saturday, about why our troops are still in Iraq and Bush and Cheney are still running around free. You actually tried to tell me that it was our fault, the voters, that you “couldn’t” do anything about Bush and Cheney, because we didn’t send enough of you Democrats to Congress. Well, John, that is bull-fucking-shit, and you know it! You helped the party leadership do everything they could to put off doing anything about holding these two law-breakers accountable because Speaker Nancy Pelosi wanted to use Republican corruption as a goddamn campaign issue to win greater control of Congress in the 2008 elections. The 2008 elections! Two goddamn years away! To put it another way, John, in case it hasn’t already been pointed out to you, she is putting the interests of her party, your party, ahead of the interests of her country, your country, my country, our country. Just like the goddamn Republicans have been doing since they got into power. Are you actually going to try to convince me that the interests of the Democratic National Committee are more important than the interests of the United States of America? That must be why impeachment was “off the table” from the day after the 2006 elections, when I and many other people sent you to Congress to stop the war in Iraq and to hold Bush and Cheney accountable for their actions. If you will recall, I also warned you that if we didn’t get these two criminals out of office, we were going to end up in a war with Iran. Remember me now? I was the one wearing the “Question Authority” t-shirt. You remarked on it and I told you it was why I was there that day.

Did you hear the news, John? Our military commanders in the Persian Gulf are being asked to come up battle plans for attacking Iran. It seems they’ve decided to deem what the Iranians are doing in this illegal war next to their country as “increasingly hostile”. Defense Secretary Gates has said that the Iranians are killing Americans. So-called Iraqi Prime minister Mailiki is going to Iran to confront them and, according to what we are being told, tell them to stop interfering. “If that doesn’t produce results, the State Department has begun drafting an ultimatum that would tell the Iranians to knock it off – or else.” Or else what, John? What do you think the “or else” might be? I told you it could come to this. Move to impeach both President Bush and Vice President Cheney (Cheney first) NOW! Before it’s too late! Every day that you delay is one more day closer to an unnecessary military confrontation with Iran. How many more people will die because you and the Democrats failed to act in time? Do you expect for even one second that Bush thinks he needs the approval of Congress to attack Iran? You wouldn’t, because you’re too smart to think that. So why do you keep allowing him the chance to do it? Because he “says” he won’t? Does he have a track record of keeping his promises in this regard? What are you waiting for?

In January 1983, I raised my right hand and took an oath, not unlike the one you took in January 2007 (almost 24 years to the day after I took mine). We both swore that we would preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic. Bush and Cheney have clearly proven themselves to be “domestic enemies” of the Constitution, and it is your sworn duty to protect it against not only the likes of them, but them in particular. Well, John, I still feel bound by my oath, which is why I’m writing this. Do you still feel bound by yours?
1 Comment

  1. Great one, Wayne. I’d be surprised if John Hall’s hair isn’t on fire.

    Is it so much to ask them to do what they SWORE they would do?

    Comment by Zooey — April 29, 2008 @ 11:08 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.

