Pick Wayne's Brain

September 9, 2008

The Devil Went Into Cable

Filed under: Parody — Tags: , , , , , — Wayne A. Schneider @ 10:26 PM

The Devil Went Into Cable

Original words and music, “The Devil Went Down To Georgia” by Willian Joel Digregorio, Charles Fred Hayward, John Thomas Crain, Jr., Fred Leroy Edwards, James Wainwrigh Marshall, Charlie Daniels, 1992 – Give ’em a big hand, folks, the Charlie Daniels Band!
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider, 2008

The Devil went into cable. He was lookin’ for a buck to steal.
He was in a bind ’cause he was like his kind, and he was shillin’ his right-wing spiel,
When he came across this old guy sittin’ in a studio doing but squat.
And the Devil jumped up on the manager’s desk and said, “Boy, let me tell you what.

“I guess you didn’t know it but I’m a TV mogul, too.
“And if you’d care to share your wares, I’ll make a job for you.
“Now, you do pretty good TV, boy, but give the Devil his due.
“I’ll pay a Flag Pin of gold and take your soul, ’cause you’ll make me richer than you.”

The guy said, “My name’s Roger, and it might be a sin.
But I’ll take your pay, and lemme jus’ say, that I’m the best that’s ever been.”

Roger, loosen up your tie and call your right-wing guys,
‘Cause hell’s broke loose on cable and the Devil deals in lies.
And if you’re in you get this shiny Flag Pin made of gold.
But if you do, the Devil gets your soul.

The Devil opened up his purse and he said, “I’ll fund this show.”
And fired libs from within his ship as he ponied up his dough.
And he waved the flag across the screen and he made an evil hiss.
Then a bunch of morons tuned in and it sounded somethin’ like this:

When the Devil finished, Roger said, “Well, you’re pretty good, old son,
But sit down in that leather chair and let me show you how it’s done.

Liars on the network, Punch and run
The Devil’s in the house and we’re having fun
Snicker in a deadpan, picking up dough
Roger do your boys lie? No, child, no

The Devil crowed his head because he knew that it’d be sweet.
And he laid that golden Flag Pin on the desk for Rog to see.
Roger said, “Devil, just come on back if you ever want to try again.
‘Cause I told some lib’ral son of a BITCH, I’m the best that’s ever been.”

He put
Liars on the network, Punch and run
The Devil’s in the house and we’re having fun
Snicker in a deadpan, picking up dough
Roger will your boys lie? No, child, no

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

