Pick Wayne's Brain

June 17, 2009

It’s the End of the Show As They Know It

The right wing is going nuts about the idea that Obama might want to bring back the Fairness Doctrine. They claim that it would destroy right wing radio. There are a lot of things wrong with this argument, but in the meantime, let’s make fun of them with the help of R.E.M. (whose lead singer happens to be openly gay, so that ought to tweak ’em a bit more.)

It’s the End of The Show As They Know It
Original Words and Music “It’s the End of the World As We Know It”
by Bill Berry, Michael Stipe, Mike Mills, Peter Buck 1987
Additional Lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider 2009

That’s great it starts with a fruitcake,
Words of hate to entertain, Michael Weiner’s gone insane

Guy on the radio, listen to his head blow.
Words serve the right’s needs, dummies hear their own needs,
Ramp it up a notch, feed hate, show strength,
The matter with the chatter is fear of light, sounds right,
Liar, pants on fire, reprehensible behavior
And government requirements to combat fright.
Lefty wasn’t coming on debating
With the ratings beating down your shtick

Meme-by-meme reporters stifled truth, peddled crap,
Look at that no brain! Fine, then.
Uh oh, over-top, regulation, common good but it’ll do.
Save yourself, serve yourself.
Words serve the right’s needs, listen to the hate screeds,
Tell us of the Rapture and the reverent on the right – right.
Your Christianic, messianic slam fight, not bright,
Feeling pretty hyped

It’s the end of the show as they know it
It’s the end of the show as they know it
It’s the end of the show as they know it
And I say, “Fine”

Eight o’clock – TV hour, don’t get caught in Bill-O’s shower.
Live and learn, get burned, listen to the hate churn.
Look at him no uniform and book signing, bed-wetting.
Every motive escalate, dialog incinerate,
Fight a handle, fight a motion, let down, let down,
Watch that heel, Rush, Rush, uh-oh this means
No clear overseer. Terrorist – steer clear!
A regiment, a regiment, a regiment of lies.
Offer me the right wing is to offer me alternatives that I decline

It’s the end of the show as they know it
It’s the end of the show as they know it
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
And I say, “Fine”
I say, “Fine”

It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
And I say, “Fine”

The other night I flipped the dial, philosophic thought divide,
Mouths say any lie, neo-con turds slide,
Xenophobe b.s., Tammy Bruce and Mister Beck,
Teabag party, tax cuts, liberals, boom!
You misogynic, diarrheic ham gone nuts! Right? Right!

It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
And I say, “Fine”

It’s the end of the show as they know it
It’s the end of the show as they know it
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
And I say, “Fine”

It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
And I say, “Fine”

It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
It’s the end of the show as they know it
. (It’s time I had to lie alone)
And I say, “Fine”

1 Comment

  1. Eight o’clock – TV hour, don’t get caught in Bill-O’s shower.
    Live and learn, get burned, listen to the hate churn.
    Look at him no uniform and book signing, bed-wetting.

    I hate Bill O’. He’s such a dick….

    Comment by anthony — July 14, 2009 @ 9:13 AM


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.

