Pick Wayne's Brain

July 27, 2009

Good News Olbermann

Now we find out that Dick Cheney was fighting hard to have the military go into an American city (in this case, Buffalo, NY) and arrest the group later known as the Lackawanna Six. Luckily for us he lost that fight. But one question remains: Why is Dick Cheney still walking free?

Good News Olbermann
Original words and music “Sunshine Superman” by Donovan
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider, 2009

Good news came slowly a-through my
a-inbox today
Could’ve skipped it easy a-but it
It changed my day
It’s a big crime, I know it
but in a while
You’re gonna do time, I know it,
Despite your denial

‘Cause I made my mind up you’re going to do time
I’ll tell you right now
Letting Dick off the hook now, baby,
a-that I do mind

Olbermann or Glenn Greenwald ain’t got
a-nothin’ on me
I can make like a blogger and try for
The truth you don’t see, yeah
A-you can just sit there lying
In your microphone, yeah,
About all the powers a-you can
a-call all your own

‘Cause I made my mind up you’re going to do time
I’ll tell you right now
Letting Dick off the hook now, baby,
a-that I do mind

Everybody’s bustlin’ a-just to
Put you at the scene
And I say you’re a fool to think that
It’s good to be mean
You stood up to preach at pundits,
And mis-remembered then
I see a reach there, Cheney,
Does it ever end?

When you’ve made your mind up forever to be slime
Hmm, hmm, hmm,
I’ll tick off the facts and slowly
Show your little crimes
‘Cause I made my mind up you’re going to do time
I’ll tell you right now
Letting Dick off the hook now, baby,
a-that I do mind

Olbermann or Glenn Greenwald ain’t got
a-nothin’ on me
I can make like a blogger and try for
The truth you don’t see, yeah
A-you can just sit there lying
In your microphone,
About all the powers a-you can
a-call all your own

When you’ve made your mind up forever to be slime

I’ll tick off the facts and slowly
Show your little crimes

When you’ve made your mind up forever to be slime
I’ll tick off the facts
I’ll tick off the facts and slowly
Show your little crimes

[NOTE: Why the odd title? The reason is simple. I substituted the words I used in place of “Sunshine” and “Superman” where they appear in the song. Makes about as much sense as the original title, I figured. 🙂 ]

1 Comment

  1. Ah, another classic updated. You do have a gift, Wayne.

    Comment by medjhiesco — July 28, 2009 @ 3:50 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.

