Pick Wayne's Brain

July 29, 2009

You Didn’t Have To Be So Mean

This song was originally posted 10/28/06

Well, call it a Freudian slip, call it what you will, but it sure sounded like Vice President Dick Cheney (who once downed a beer, shot his friend, and blew off the cops all in one day) said we’re using torture on the detainees. No, he didn’t come out and say it. He may have accidentally alluded to it. But at this point, what’s the use of constantly beating up on the prisoners? Is it going to get you any current information seeing as we’ve had many of them in custody for a few years now? So I started wondering, what must life be like for those guys in Guantanamo Bay (not necessarily the ones that had been “renditioned” to other countries before)? Well, let’s see if The Lovin’ Spoonful’s hit song “You Didn’t Have To Be So Nice” can tell us.

You Didn’t Have To Be So Mean
Original words and music “You Didn’t Have To Be So Nice” by John Sebastian and Steve Boone, 1965
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider, 2006

You didn’t have to be so mean
I would have told you anyway
If you had known who I had been
I might not still be here today

They said the time was right for me to talk to you
I knew I wouldn’t last a day or two, and it’s true

You beat me on a “quiet day”
You simply throw me round the place
I know when it will be that way
The minute that I see your face

(music)

And if I live a few more days (if I live a few more days)
I wonder if I’ll get to say (wonder if I’ll get to say)
You didn’t have to be so mean (be so mean)
I could have died the other day (could have died the other day)

They said the time was right for you to execute
I knew they’d never want to prosecute, and it’s true

You didn’t have to be so mean (didn’t have to be so mean)
The end result was just the same (end result was just the same)
The things you did were so obscene (so obscene)
I know you’ll say I was to blame (was to blame)

Blog at WordPress.com.

