Pick Wayne's Brain

August 6, 2009

Capitol Hill

Filed under: Parody — Tags: , , , , , , , — Wayne A. Schneider @ 1:00 AM

Thios song was originally posted on 7/09/07

Well, as more and more people are saying, it’s time to bring the troops home from Iraq. There is nothing more that can be accomplished militarily. The Iraqis themselves have to want the violence to end and to live in peace (as I hope we all would, so STFU Sen Lieberman). This time I turned to the Peter Gabriel classic, “Solisbury Hill” to express myself. (In case some of you don’t reciognize the song by that title, think “My heart was going boom boom boom”. Yeah, that’s the one.) As usual, thank you, Jane, for your helpful critiques. And I can only hope that Mr. Gabriel forgives me.

Capitol Hill
Original Words and Music “Solisbury Hill” by Peter Gabriel
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider, 2007

Climbing up on Capitol Hill
I could see I’d have a fight
Legislators standing still
Need to show ‘em what is right

Here is something I observed
Came up here to have my voice
No one seemed to have the nerve
Had to tell ‘em, “You have no choice”

They did not believe the information
Just have to trust in my persuasion
Iraq is going BOOM, BOOM, BOOM
I said, “Do what’s right
And bring the troops back home!”

To keep in line with my design
I couldn’t act like I was nuts
If I stood and moaned and whined
All their doors would soon be shut

So I went from face to face
Though I felt that in my gut
I could slow the dying’s pace
If the funding I should cut

I was seeing part of democracy
I looked right down at the debauchery
Iraq is going BOOM, BOOM, BOOM
I said, “Stop right now,
And bring the troops back home!”

When delusion spin her net
I wanna know how this could be
And liberty is no sure bet
I don’t think that I’ll stay free

Watch their empty rhetoric
They close their eyes and will not see
Why should I use etiquette?
I will show what I can be

Today I got placed in confinement
I told them what the words on my sign meant
Iraq’s still going BOOM, BOOM, BOOM
“Hey”, I said, “You can keep me here
Just bring the troops back home.”
(Yeah, back home)

Blog at WordPress.com.

