Pick Wayne's Brain

May 21, 2010

Another World

This is a message directed at Tony Hayward, CEO of British Petroleum, and to the rest of BP as well. We only have this one planet to live on. Try not to use it up before we can find another place to live. Thank you. It’s to the tune of “Another Girl” by the Beatles. (They give us such great material to work with.)

Another World
Original words and music “Another Girl” by John Lennon and Paul McCartney,
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider

For we have not another world, another world…

You’re making me say that I trust nobody but you
But as from today well I just can’t say that it’s true
I ain’t no fool and I still say it’s all we got
For we have not another world, another world

It’s deeper than all the spills and there’s been quite a few
Nobody at MMS was watching what you do
And so I’m telling you this crime you better stop
For we have not another world, another world
We can run to in the end
When this one’s spent as the oily men intend

I just wanna say that I’ve been unhappy with you
But as to who pays well I see nobody but you
This isn’t cool and I won’t take what you have wrought
For we have not another world, another world
We can run to in the end
When this one’s spent as the oily men intend

I just wanna say that I’ve been unhappy with you
But as to who pays well I see nobody but you
This isn’t cool and I won’t take what you have wrought
For we have not another world, another world, another world

3 Comments

  1. Count me in on your message to BP. Good job Wayne.

    I was just thinking about all of this today – how we are killing our planet, killing our waterways, messing with the balance of nature, setting things in motion that we have no control whatsoever of the outcome.. and this is inevitably going to mess with climate change as well..

    The earth will eventually heal itself, but unfortunately it will be long after we’ve made this planet uninhabitable for humans and all the other critters who have to share the planet with us.

    I don’t think these corporations think about what happens if they mess things up so bad they can’t be fixed.. If they set things in motion that nobody can fix.. Of course, what immediately jumps to mind is depleted uranium.. No, they don’t care. Short term thinking, long term consequences.

    Comment by nwmuse — May 27, 2010 @ 5:29 PM

  2. Hi Wayne & jane…

    Fun game tonight (the Mets…), huh?

    I don’t have a television (for 4 or 5 years now, mebbe even 6…) but I do have a subscription to MLB.com’s radio thingy, so’s I can listen to Mets games live…

    I’m beginning to really like this team… still feelin’ a little cautious after the last three years, but if they keep winning games like tonight and Sunday…

    And 19-4 at home over their last 23?

    Pinch me…

    Comment by therepublicofstupidity — June 9, 2010 @ 1:29 AM

  3. Love it Wayne! Only you can bring a smile to someones face regarding this unbelivably horrible situation…
    “This isn’t cool and I won’t take what you have wrought
    For we have not another world, another world…”

    great line….

    Comment by anthony — June 28, 2010 @ 2:33 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

